# **ANNUAL MEETING OF** THE COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF COVENTRY

18 May 2006

#### **PRESENT**

### Lord Mayor (Councillor Ahmed)

#### Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Batten)

Councillor Adalat Councillor Lakha

Councillor Arrowsmith Councillor Mrs Lancaster

Councillor Asif

Councillor Lee Councillor Auluck Councillor Mrs. Lucas Councillor Bains Councillor Maton Councillor Benefield Councillor Ms. McKav Councillor Mrs. Bigham Councillor McNicholas Councillor Blundell **Councillor Matchet Councillor Charley** Councillor Mulhall Councillor Chater Councillor Mutton Councillor Cliffe Councillor H. Noonan Councillor Clifford Councillor O'Neill Councillor Crookes Councillor Patton Councillor Mrs. Dixon Councillor Miss Reece

**Councillor Duggins** Councillor Ridge Councillor Field Councillor Ridley Councillor Foster Councillor Mrs. Rutter Councillor Gazey Councillor Sawdon Councillor Mrs. Griffin Councillor Skinner Councillor Harvard Councillor Mrs. Stone Councillor Ms. Hunter Councillor Taylor

Councillor Townshend Councillor Mrs. Johnson Councillor Kelly **Councillor Waters** Councillor Williams Councillor Kelsey

**Apologies** Councillor Mrs Harper

Councillor Nellist Councillor M Noonan Councillor Skipper Councillor Windsor

#### 1. **Election of Chair of the Council**

It was moved by Councillor Matchet, seconded by Councillor Asif and supported by Councillor Mutton that Councillor Shabbir Ahmed be elected as Chair of the Council (being the Lord Mayor of the City) for the ensuing year.

RESOLVED that Councillor Shabbir Ahmed be elected as Chair of the Council for the 2006/2007 municipal year, having made the declaration of office prescribed by the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and having been invested with the Lord Mayor's Chain of Office and Robe.

# 2. Official Badge of the Lady Mayoress

The retiring Lady Mayoress (Mrs Meto Lakha) invested Mrs Rakizen-Ul-Nisa with the Badge of Office of the Lady Mayoress.

## 3. **Lord Mayor's Address**

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Ahmed, addressed the City Council.

### 4. Vote of Thanks to the Retiring Lord Mayor

A vote of thanks for the retiring Lord Mayor, Councillor Ram Parkash Lakha, was moved by Councillor Mutton, seconded by Councillor Chater and supported by Councillor Taylor. Councillor Lakha responded to the vote of thanks.

#### **RESOLVED:-**

- (1) That the warmest thanks of the Council are due and are hereby given to Councillor Ram Parkash Lakha for the zeal and impartiality with which he has discharged the arduous duties of the office of Lord Mayor during the year 2005/2006 and to Mrs Meto Lakha as Lady Mayoress.
- (2) That a copy of this resolution, under the common seal, be presented to Councillor Ram Parkash Lakha and Mrs Meto Lakha.

### 5. Medallions for the Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

The Lord Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented to Councillor Lakha and Mrs Lakha, Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during 2005/2006, medallions inscribed with their names.

#### 6. Election of Vice Chair of the Council

It was moved by Councillor McNicholas, seconded by Councillor Clifford and supported by Councillor Taylor that Councillor David Henry Batten be elected as Vice Chair of the Council (being the Deputy Lord Mayor of the City) for the ensuing year.

RESOLVED that Councillor David Henry Batten be elected Vice Chair of the Council for the 2006/2007 municipal year, having made the declaration of office prescribed by the Local Government Act 1972 (as amended) and having been invested with the Deputy Lord Mayor's Badge and Robe.

# 7. Official Badge of the Deputy Lady Mayoress

The Lady Mayoress (Mrs Rakizen-Ul-Nisa) invested Mrs Lynda Batten with the Badge of Office of the Deputy Lady Mayoress.

# 8. Election of the Leader and Deputy Leader of the Council

It was moved by Councillor Matchet and seconded by Councillor Asif that Councillors Taylor and O'Neill be elected as Leader and Deputy Leader respectively of the City Council for the ensuing year.

RESOLVED that Councillors Taylor and O'Neill be elected as Leader and Deputy Leader respectively of the Council for the 2006/2007 municipal year.

#### 9. **Minutes**

Ward

The minutes of the meeting of the City Council held on 11<sup>th</sup> April 2006, were signed as a true record.

# 10. Return of Persons Elected as Councillors for the City on 4<sup>th</sup> May 2006

Member

The return of Councillors elected for the following wards of the City on 4<sup>th</sup> May 2006 was reported:

Bablake	Andrew Williams
Binley and Willenhall	John Mutton
Cheylesmore	Linda Reece
Earlsdon	Andrew Matchet
Foleshill	Altaf Adalat
Henley	Kevin Maton
Holbrooks	Anne Lucas
Longford	Lindsley Harvard
Lower Stoke	Philip Townshend
Radford	Kieran Mulhall
St. Michael's	Rob Windsor
Sherbourne	David Arrowsmith
Upper Stoke	Sucha Bains

Wainbody Gary Crookes

Westwood David Skinner

Whoberley Clifford Ridge

Woodlands Anthony O'Neill

Wyken Angela Waters

#### 11. Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

# 12. Matters for Determination by the City Council

The Council considered the following documents tabled at the meeting:-

- (i) The number of councillors to be appointed to the Cabinet.
- (ii) The Cabinet portfolios and appointment of Cabinet Members.
- (iii) The appointment of Scrutiny Boards, Scrutiny Co-ordination Committee, Best Value Review Groups, Standards Committee, Planning Committee and Licensing and Regulatory Committee.
- (iv) The size and terms of reference (as set out in the Constitution) for those boards and committees.
- (v) The allocation of seats to political groups in accordance with the political balance rules.
- (vi) Nominations of councillors to serve on each Scrutiny Board and committee, and the appointment of Cabinet Members on Area Forums and Chairs of Area Forums.
- (vii) Nominations and appointments to outside bodies
- (viii) Programme of ordinary meetings of the Council, Cabinet, Scutiny Boards and Committees for 2006/07 including the date and time of the next annual meeting.

#### **RESOLVED that:**

- (i) The appointments detailed in the documents submitted at the meeting be approved.
- (ii) That the programme of Ordinary Meetings for 2006-2007 be approved.

(Meeting Closed: 12.15 pm)